Permissions in Livespace can vary depending on the user's role in Livespace. In addition, they can be extended depending on the level of access given to the user in a particular object, such as a deal or task.
In this article we have covered:
You will reflect the organizational structure of your company with the Teams option.
1. To add a team go to Account Settings, Users tab, then select Teams and Add Team.
2. Enter the name of the team and the parent team. Assign users to this team and specify their roles.
Roles in Teams
Livespace has three user roles in a team by default. Configuration is available to the administrator from Account Settings, Users, Roles tab.
Administrator – has access to all options, the permissions of this role cannot be changed.
Through the configurator, you decide what actions a Manager or a User can perform within the selected object. For example, you can allow managers to edit and delete entries on the board, and users - not.
How to set permissions for a particular Roles in teams?
Go to Account Settings, Users tab, Roles and select Edit in the Actions column
In the available permissions section, you will see a list of types of objects, such as Persons, Companies, and Tasks.
Here you can freely configure permissions.
Access to objects
When granting a user or team-specific access to a deal, company, or person, we can extend their privileges within that object.
You configure access in Account Settings, Users tab, and Accesses.
The above accesses depend on the object, for example, contacts - companies and people - can be accessed by supervisors and participants.
How to set access to particular objects?
Go to Account Settings, Users, Accesses tab and select Edit in the Actions column next to the name of the role in the object whose permissions you want to modify. Select the desired permissions and Save.
How to set default accesses when adding new contacts/deals/spaces?
Visibility allows you to specify which users will see contacts and opportunities in the list or in the search engine.
Public contacts and opportunities are visible to all users to the full extent, non-public to all users to a limited extent (in the list), and hidden only to invited users (such as participants).
To set the visibility of individual objects go to Account Settings, Permissions, Visibility tab and select Contacts, Sales Opportunities or Spaces and enable the ability to add selected visibility options.
Choose which visibility will be the default when adding contacts, sales opportunities, or spaces
Changing the user in the object
Once all permissions have been granted, it is worth verifying, or possibly changing, the users who have access to particular objects. You can do this in two ways:
1. Through editing
When you press Show Details, you can also add participants to the facility or remove them from it.
2. Using list operations (e.g., for mass editing)
After pressing Change User, select which role you want to edit, select a new user to fill that role, and Save.
Example of the use of permissions
The permissions granted in connection with roles and objects add up, as described in the example:
User cannot delete deals by default.
Member cannot delete deals.
Owner may delete deals
In this case, a User invited to a deal as a Member, will not be able to delete it. On the other hand, the User assigned to the selected deal as an Owner, will be able to delete deal.
There are 3 Sales Teams in the company.
Each salesperson has access to all contacts within his team.
The salesperson can edit only those contacts that he is the owner of.
Firstly, enable the option of adding hidden contacts and define that when adding new people and companies, they are added as hidden by default. To do this go to Account settings > Permissions > Visibility
Setting up the Owner role.
In order for the owner to be able to edit his contacts, go to Accounts settings > Permissions > Access, choose Edit next to the Owner role and then check Edit a Persons/Companies permission. Repeat this activity for both people and companies.
In the Invited by default field, the Logged in user has been specified. Thanks to that the user, who adds the contact will be the owner of the object without the necessity to set this parameter each time.
Setting up the User role.
We want the Participant, i.e. someone invited to contact (for example a teammate) to have no possibility to edit the contact, which is not the Owner. To do so, go to Account settings > Permissions > Access, select Edit in the role Participant and then clear the check mark in the Persons/Companies edit permission. Repeat this action both for Persons and for Companies.
Similarly to the owner role the Invited by default field has been defined. In this case, it’s a User’s main team that adds contact or a deal to Livespace, so there’s no need to define it when adding a new contact or a deal.
Thanks to such settings, each user has access to their team’s contacts, but only the Owner can edit them. At the same time, users from other teams have no access to them.